Project Spotlight

Bailey's Grove along Clark’s Creek in Dauphin County

Bailey's Grove was acquired in 1912 by the Bailey and Cameron family, and conveyed to the Central Pennsylvania Conservancy and the Pennsylvania Commonwealth in 2011. Now owned by the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission, the property permanently preserves an area of unique natural beauty, comprises a portion of the Clarks Creek Greenway connecting the Dehart Reservoir to the Susquehanna River, and provides a public access fishing area along 5,000 linear feet of Clarks Creek.

Bailey's Grove was one piece of an estate referred to as Flemish Down that at one time totaled over 2,000 acres and stretched unbroken from the Victoria Furnace all the way to the Susquehanna River, providing its Scottish Highlands owners with unmatched hiking, shooting, and fishing opportunities reminiscent of home. An idyllic mix of mature hemlock and open meadow beside one of central Pennsylvania's best known trout streams, the 27-acre grove has long served as a family retreat and picnic area, Boy Scout camping area, and mile-long scenic stretch along State Highway 325.

Click here for a map to the project's location.